Weather : sunny!
Loveland Island by Tatsuro Yamashita




Today I phoned in sick to work. I woke up at 5AM with abdominal pain and took painkillers but by 7AM it didn't shift. I went to the pharmacy at 9AM to ask for antibiotics but they couldn't give me any without a prescription, so I had to phone the non-emergency line. By the time they called me back it was 1PM. I was supposed to start work at 12PM. So I didn't go in. I felt really bad but Prize cheered me up, as always, and we went out together. I'm broke right now but my student finance should hit on the 7th and I'll be able to breathe again. After a few hours of getting ready and dressed, we finally made it out the door.

Today we went to the Battersea Power Station Mall, which was quite busy. I've only ever been to Battersea to cater for some big Italian lawyer's Wimbledon party, but Battersea Power Station is quite nice. It's so big it's a little overwhelming and the mall is mostly for the well-off locals, but I still enjoyed it. Prize and I went to Oseyo for some buns, I had char siu, and they were great! I also got POKKA melon milk which was great. There was also this Japanese cake and bubble tea shop called KOVA and the shortcake was AMAZING!!! Seriously so so so good! We sat out by the Thames to eat. Some guy really pissed me off: he was 10 feet away from a bin but he put his empty bottle on the railing... the guy on the neighbouring bench and I looked at each other like "seriously?" but before I could tell the guy off he speed walked away. Why do people do these things? It's hardly deviance because most people litter. It's not like you're sticking it to the man. Jeez. What scum. These people should be publicly executed.

Things are going really well with Prize. Too well. I've reached the stage of love where I'm overwhelmed by persisting feelings of ardour and anxiety. Sometimes I want to cry because I'm so deeply in love. Sometimes I feel nauseous because I can't imagine being without him. The endless possibilities of the future form a maelstrom in my mind. It's too much and I wish he wasn't here, but now loneliness seems closer to desolation than the norm. It's currently 22:53 and we're listening to a Japanese city pop radio. The announcer is beaming. The music evokes feelings of happiness, but the idyllic image of the ocean is marred by the likeness of the sea to my tears. At least, unlike my tears, the sea is cold and cerulean. A perfect summer. What wil my summer hold this year? Before I go to The Netherlands, I'll have to make lots of memories with everyone. Things change. New chapters are written. The pages have to turn or else the story ceases; I have to keep going, because things might get better, things might get worse, but every story has to end. Won't the readers be disappointed if I end it too soon?

Haha, that was really corny wasn't it? I'd like to write essays someday but right now I haven't read nearly enough. I bought a collection of Susan Sontag essays on photography and other stuff but I've yet to ready it. I have a really unhealthy relationship with books, like, I'm so non-committal. Right now I'm reading The Pyschology of Female Violence by Anna Motz; I'll upload a review when it's finished, because I think it's a really fantastic book. I've read Heaven by Mieko Kawakami and also Breasts and Eggs, and I read Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata. I think I'll re-read them someday when I'm a little older, I didn't really get them in highschool. I don't think my opinion on Convenience Store Woman will change. I think that's truly a miserable book.

I want alcohol so I can be less sad. I think becoming an adult was the worst thing to ever happen to me.

Haha, but doesn't everyone feel the same? Thanks for reading today's entry.









We went to the LEGO shop in the mall.